GED Testing


General Education Development (GED) tests are used by all states as a basis for awarding high school equivalency credentials when a student has not graduated from high school. The GED has four subtests: Reasoning Through Language Arts, Social Studies, Science, and Mathematical Reasoning. A passing score is 145 out of a possible 200 points for each subtest. However, colleges may require a higher score for applicants – in some cases a score of 165 or higher per subtest.

The GED is administered on a computer. Testing accommodations are available for eligible students with disabilities. Examples of accommodations available on the GED are extra time, extra breaks, and a separate testing room. To receive accommodations, a student must complete an accommodations request form prior to taking the test. The student must have a documented disability and must show why the requested accommodation is needed. It is helpful, but not required, to send supporting documentation, such as the most recent Individualized Education Program (IEP) to assist in the process.

Related Articles:

Additional Resources:

Last Updated: June 9, 2020

The Center for Autism Research and The Children's Hospital of Philadelphia do not endorse or recommend any specific person or organization or form of treatment. The information included within the CAR Autism Roadmap™ and CAR Resource Directory™ should not be considered medical advice and should serve only as a guide to resources publicly and privately available. Choosing a treatment, course of action, and/or a resource is a personal decision, which should take into account each individual's and family's particular circumstances.

CAR Resource Directory™